you can't shush me!

news, musings, and other stuff

Apologies

on May 5, 2009

I’m so sorry for the lack of posts! I’m going to try to start posting short posts more often instead of writing long posts infrequently. We’ll see if I can do it! My excuse, as always, is that we’ve been so busy…and exhausted.

Now that I’m back at work full time, I’m trying to establish some kind of daily routine. Every night, I get Griffin’s bag packed and loaded into the car so I don’t forget it when I’m rushing out the door the next morning. To cut down on my morning prep time, I also pick out my clothes the night before. I KNOW! I haven’t down THAT since elementary school! The only things I can’t pack the night before are the expressed milk and my breast pump. But I haven’t yet forgotten those (knock wood)!

G usually wakes up just as I’m finishing breakfast. I hate waking him up so if he isn’t awake when I’m done eating, I open up his bedroom door. The sounds of the dogs scuffling and the tv usually wake him up a little more gradually.

So far, everything is going well. I’ve only been extremely late one day so far and I can partly blame that on the weather. Some days it’s a challenge for me to keep my eyes open. The drive is such a straight shot it’s easy to start daydreaming.

G and my mom have their own routine. Some of the highlights:

  • The morning bath. Griffin LOVES baths. He bathes in his infant tub here which is a little more restricting than the basin mom bathes him in. The basin allows more room for toys which he likes to splash around.
  • Feeding time, of course.
  • Naps–some longer than the others.
  • Afternoon phone call to Papa. Mom calls my Dad in Guam every afternoon. If G is awake and “in the mood,” she holds the phone to his ear so my Dad can talk to him. I saw them do it today. It’s very cute.
  • Playtime with Mama. Mom loves singing and playing with the kiddo. Her version of the classic kids songs are quite interesting. =)

I’m so glad my mom is hear to be with Griffin. It makes being away from him easier. I’m also happy that my boy gets to spend precious time with his Lola.

The part of the back to work routine I’m horrible at is going to bed early! No matter how hard I try, I can’t seem to get to bed as early as I’d like. Time just seems to go by so much quicker when I’m at home than when I’m at work. =)

On that note, I need to hop in the shower and start pretending to get ready for bed. I’ll be back to update again soon. I hope you keep reading!

One response to “Apologies

  1. Scott Evans says:

    Ha ha! I saw a grammatical error in your post! Who’s the English major now? Can’t spot it? Well, when you get hear, I’ll show you. ;>

Leave a Reply

