you can't shush me!

news, musings, and other stuff

That wasn’t so bad

on April 20, 2009

My first “week” back at work has come and gone and it wasn’t as painful as I thought it would be. It makes it a lot easier to come back when everyone is just so happy to see you and tells you how glad they are that you are back. My co-workers have been very supportive and understanding. They are a huge part of why I love my job. Work is so much more fulfilling and enjoyable when you not only love what you do but like the people you work with as well.

I have so much catching up to do I don’t know where to begin! Thankfully, most people are waiting before asking me questions that they know I probably won’t know how to answer. I know that I’ll eventually get back in the swing of things but right now it seems like I’ll never get back in the groove. Among the things I have to start working on:

  • Helping Cindy with the conversion of our website. We’re moving away from using Front Page and using what I think is called a content management system. (Please correct me if I’m wrong. I’m not totally sure that’s what it’s called.) Cindy says it’s very tedious but she’s also a maniac about being able to manipulate code and accessibility so we’ll see.
  • Spending the rest of my teen book budget: a whopping $2500. This will mostly go towards filling in manga series and filling in other holes.
  • Whittling down my mending. Do you think the books that get all beat up and gross just disappear? Someone has to go through them, withdraw them from the system, and decide if it’s actually worth reordering. Doing mending is dirty and sad. Dirty because, let’s face it, people do icky things to library books. Sad because, books fall apart, some faster than others and it hurts to have to replace a manga that fell apart after 10 people checked it out.
  • Getting ready for our teen summer programs and summer reading club. YIKES! I don’t even want to go into what this will entail, mostly because I have no idea what we’re going to do. Just thinking about it makes my head pound.

I worked the reference desk for just a little bit on Thursday and I was reminded of just how much fun it was. Once I was able to figure out that someone wanted the “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” books and not books about diarrhea (kids mumble, all right?), I was good to go. I’ve always loved being able to help people find the information they’re looking for. I’m also looking forward to seeing my teens again. Thinking about how far behind I am makes me remember just how much I do at the library, how far I’ve come in my career, and how much I enjoyed doing it all. I’ve always felt so proud of my accomplishments and, even though things as I make time for my new family, I can’t wait to add more to the list!

On my first day back they also happened to be taking pictures for a National Library Week promotion. It was perfect timing because posing for this picture reminded me of what I’m always striving to be: a SUPER LIBRARIAN!

Don't mess with Super Librarian!

Don't mess with Super Librarian!

Leave a Reply

