you can't shush me!

news, musings, and other stuff

Two weeks already?

on February 5, 2009
Griffin one week

Griffin one week

Griffin was two weeks old yesterday! I can’t believe it. In some ways it seems as if the time has gone by so quickly in other ways it seems like it’s been so much longer since we brought him home.

At his two week checkup our doctor was very pleased. Griffin currently weighs 7.5 ounces and is 20.8 inches long. He is in the 75-90th percentile for height. What a long kiddo! He got A+s on his physical exam and motor development skills as well. We are so happy!

Scott went back to work this week so it’s just been Griffy, the dogs, and me at home. I’m doing a lot better than I thought I would. It helps that G is still sleeping a lot. I’ve become a faster eater as I try to scarf something down while he is napping. It looks like my days of leisurely eating while reading a book are over.

We are getting the hang of breastfeeding as well. It’s not nearly as frustrating as it used to be. Sometimes it takes us a little longer to get a better latch than others but it doesn’t hurt nearly as much as it used to. Nighttime feedings are probably the hardest because he’s not the only one who’s falling asleep during the feeding! We’ve found that it’s better if I feed him for as long as possible so that he doesn’t start fussing the minute he gets put back in the bassinet. Scott and I have a system that seems to be working. When G starts fussing, Daddy gets up, changes him, and hands him to me. When G is done eating, Daddy puts him back to bed. It’s a lot of waking up for Scott, but since he falls back asleep as soon as he hits the pillow every single time, he’s okay with it. Whenever I tried to get up to put G back to bed, I’d jostle him and he’s wake up and we would have to start all over again.

At one point when I was holding Griffin today he just seemed so much bigger to me! Not his weight per se, but his features. Maybe it was just because I was looking at some pictures of him and he looked so small but at that moment it definitely seemed like he was doing some growing. I’m happy but sad at the same time. Sometimes when I’m holding him I think about how he’ll be too big to cuddle on my chest someday. At the same time, I can’t wait to see him change and grow. Sigh. Parenthood is so conflicting. 🙂

Griffin gives us his Popeye look.

Griffin gives us his Popeye look.

One response to “Two weeks already?

  1. Allie says:

    I feel the same way about parenthood… the minute I start getting excited about all the new things Collin is doing, it also makes me sad because he is getting further and further from being my snuggly baby boy. We have to treasure every minute!

Leave a Reply

