you can't shush me!

news, musings, and other stuff

Moving right along…thank goodness!

on January 15, 2009

Although Baby E still isn’t here, he is many steps closer to making his big appearance! According to our doctor during this morning’s appointment, I am 70% effaced and about 2 1/2 centimeters dilated. She said that things are progressing very well. We are very pleased, especially me. šŸ™‚

Dr. Umholtz told us that she has a theory: the more miserable you are, the closer you are to delivering. If that is truly the case, then I must be very close indeed! I’m having some difficulty breathing during simple tasks (like talking!) and just standing wears me out! I’m glad that these symptoms are not so unusual and even more glad that I chose to start my leave this week!

The original estimated due date they gave us is actually Monday, January 19th–two days later than the due date she gave us a few weeks ago. Maybe Baby E isn’t aware that his doctor changed his due date on him and wants to stay in a few days longer. Maybe he wants to make his big appearance during the presidential inauguration. Now that I know I’m moving further along in the labor process, I feel much better. I just like to know that I’m progressing instead of standing still. šŸ™‚ We have another appointment next Thursday. Hopefully the little guy will arrive before then!

Leave a Reply

