you can't shush me!

news, musings, and other stuff

My world of work

on December 6, 2008

I’m still working as a Librarian for the Carrollton Public Library. Officially my title is Librarian but unofficially I’m the Teen Librarian. Basically, I do all things teen related. This means planning activities to get teens into the library, buying books (HOORAY!) for the teen collection, and overseeing the teen advisory group. I really truly enjoy it. When one of my teens (a true sweetheart) presented me with a baby blanket she knitted for the baby, I felt so lucky to be doing what I’m doing.

Not knowing that I’d be carrying around a growing human being, I planned all kinds of stuff for the Summer: a murder mystery program, three after hours programs, and a Guitar Hero 3/DDR tournament. Thank goodness I had LOTS of help. I cut out a lot of stuff I was planning for the Fall before I actually  finalized everything so after October my programming workload lightened a bit. (Maybe the little guy was already dropping hints on his appearance!) But we did do a lot of fun stuff for Teen Read Week. We made stuffed critters out of felt and had an indoor Capture the Flag.

I’m still working on the library’s website but not as much as I used to.  I think my website partner in crime lets me get away with doing less because I’m responsible for our teen blog. I’m also still serving on the library’s System Support Team which means, if the computers are acting up, I’m one of the people they call.

Volunteering for Libraries Build Communities

Volunteering for Libraries Build Communities

I was appointed to the Young Adult Library Services Association’s (YALSA, it’s a division of the American Library Association) Committee for Professional Development in the Summer of ’07. Although their charge sounds pretty self explanatory one of our tasks this year was to rewrite some of the committee’s duties.

This was also my first year attending ALA Midwinter in Philadelphia and the ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim. It was an amazing experience, especially if you are a librarian nerd like me! In Philly I didn’t lick the Liberty Bell but I did have dinner with a bunch of Asian librarians. And in Anaheim, I got to spend some quality time with my dear friend Elle who drove all the way out from Phoenix!

I’m really excited about my latest appointment. This year I was nominated to serve on YALSA’s Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults–a committee I’ve been dying to get on for years! Beginning in February (hopefully, I never got a confirmation from the chick in the YALSA office about my acceptance of the position), I’ll be doing a lot less reading and a lot more reading. It just make maternity leave way more interesting.

I’ve had to make some schedule adjustments. It was getting so hard for me to work from 12-9. (I was always wiped out the next morning!) I’m trying to get everything together before I go out on leave. That part has been pretty hard for the control freak in me because it means I’m going to have to turn over my duties to other people for a while. I’m hoping to be able to take 12 weeks of maternity leave. It’s going to be hard to be gone but I think it’s going to be even harder to go back!

2 responses to “My world of work

  1. Pam says:

    Dang girl. You are so busy and have such ambition. I’m quite happy just being a plain ol’ reference librarian. It sounds like you love your job and what you do. That’s awesome. I miss seeing you!

Leave a Reply

