you can't shush me!

news, musings, and other stuff

It’s a boy!

on December 5, 2008

Already a friendly little guy!

Already a friendly little guy!

I thought I’d start with the biggest and the best news of the year. I wouldn’t dream of saving it until the end because if you’re reading this you probably know us and if you know us you already know what the news is. So…Scott and I are expecting our first baby…and it’s a boy!

I had my first suspicions on May 18th which, believe it or don’t, was also our 6th wedding anniversary. I can’t begin to describe how I felt when, after several years of the single “not pregnant” line, I finally saw the double “pregnant” line! I was so unbelieving that I ran out to the drugstore and bought another kit just to be sure! Between that day and the next I took FOUR tests…just to make sure the sticks weren’t flawed. When the pregnancy was finally confirmed by both our regular doctor and our OB/GYN, I settled down so I didn’t have to invest any more money on EPTs. =)

All in all my pregnancy has been wonderful! The first trimester was the hardest. I was exhausted a lot of the time. I’d take long naps, wake up for a few hours, then nap again. I wasn’t throwing up very much but I was constantly nauseated. (There was one not so good incident that involved cherries…it was just like that scene in The Witches of Eastwick!) The hardest part was keeping it a secret from everyone.

So…it’s a boy, he’s due in January, and we’re thrilled to death. Here are some ultrasound pics if you’re interested:

baby boy evans

If you really want, you can watch the kiddo in action: (On youtube courtesy of daddy. I love the music, don’t you?)

That’s all the baby news for this post. Reflections on pregnancy and motherhood to come…maybe. =)


Leave a comment